The Marriage Supper

At the ‘midnight cry’ that Matthew 25 and the parable of the 10 virgins alludes to, we are gathered together to our bridegroom. This is what Yom Teruah points to. In between Yom Teruah and Yom Kippur are 10 days, known as the 10 days of Awe. This is the wrath of YHWH that is poured out upon the wicked. Yom Kippur is a picture of the wedding supper where we will be with the Messiah while the fowls are feeding upon the carcasses of the wicked. We will be dressed in white and will be taken to inherit the Land with our King and Husband. During Temple times, this was the only day that the High Priest could go into the Holy of Holies. This is a picture of the wedding chamber where the bridegroom and bride meet face to face. Why are we commanded to afflict ourselves on Yom Kippur? Because Messiah said that we fast when the bridegroom is away from us (Matthew 9:15), when we are brought back to Him we will feast at the wedding supper.

Hos 2:16 And at that day, says YHWH, you shall call Me, My husband; and you shall no more call Me, My Baal.
Hos 2:17 For I will take away the names of the Baals out of her mouth; and they shall no more be remembered by their name.
Hos 2:18 And in that day I will cut a covenant for them with the beasts of the field, and with the birds of the heavens, and the creepers of the ground. And I will break the bow and the sword, and the battle out of the earth, and I will make them to lie down safely.
Hos 2:19 And I will betroth you to Me forever. Yes, I will betroth you to Me in righteousness, and in judgment, and in mercy, and in compassions.
Hos 2:20 I will even betroth you to Me in faithfulness. And you shall know YHWH.
Hos 2:21 And it shall be in that day, I will answer, says YHWH. I will answer the heavens, and they shall answer the earth.
Hos 2:22 And the earth shall hear the grain, and the wine, and the oil; and they shall hear Jezreel.
Hos 2:23 And I will sow her to Me in the earth. And I will have mercy on No Mercy. And I will say to Not My People, You are My people! And they shall say, My God!

The Day Atonement is the day when the nation of Israel (as a whole) was cleansed of their sins. Passover is the picture of individual redemption, Yom Kippur national redemption. The year of Jubilee (when everyone returned to their land) began on the Day of Atonement. This is a picture of the great trumpet (Isaiah 27:13) that is blown when those resurrected in the 1st resurrection will receive their inheritance in the land with the Messiah. The Day of Atonement is a shadow picture of the Wedding Feast of the Lamb, when we are clothed in white garments and then enter into the promised land with the Bridegroom when His feet step down on the Mt. of Olives.

Jer 33:7 And I will cause the captivity of Judah and the captivity of Israel to return, and will build them, as at the first. (End of the exile, returning to the Land)
Jer 33:8 And I will cleanse them from all their iniquity which they have sinned against Me; and I will pardon all their iniquities which they have sinned against Me, and which they have rebelled against Me. (Cleansing/atonement at the same time)

Jer 50:19 And I will again bring Israel to his home, and he shall feed on Carmel and Bashan, and his soul shall be satisfied on Mount Ephraim and Gilead.
Jer 50:20 In those days, and at that time, states YHWH, the iniquity of Israel shall be sought for, and it is not; and the sins of Judah, and they will not be found; for I will pardon those whom I leave as a remnant.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR COMMENTS. SHALOM!

