the different sounds and the order

The sounds of the shofar symbolize our crying out to G-d. The different sounds imitate different kinds of crying:

The shevarim (three medium-sized blasts) is a sighing tone, similar to how one would moan when he has great worries.

The Teruah (nine very short blasts) is a wailing sound, similar to how would ululate in a tragic situation.

Before and after these broken blasts, we blow a simple, unbroken blast, called a tekiyah. Chassidic teachings explains that this blast comes from the essence of our soul, and therefore is not composed of multiple parts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s